Logistical Grace

I have a real problem with what some in the Reformed camp call “Logistical Grace”. You know, that special kind of grace that God shows us where all the logistics of life come together so that things work out the way they should? Its not that I don’t believe in logistical grace. Its that I don’t have much faith in it. For example, our bass player’s wife is VERY pregnant. Now, her due date was yesterday. We have a show Jan. 24th. I was very cautious to book a show so close to her due date but they assured me that a show as late as the 24th would be okay. Well, here we are with no baby yet and like, 3 practices to go before the show, which seem to keep getting cancelled because of doctor’s appointments and stuff for our bass player’s wife. So here I am stressing out over all of this. Will the pieces fall into place? The show is at the only large music venue in Lancaster County. If we cancel, what will happen to our reputation at the club? Tickets have been sold. Flyers have been hung. The show must go on.

Why is it I can trust the Lord with my eternal soul but I can’t trust him to work out a few scheduling conflicts?

4 Comments

  1. “You know, that special kind of grace that God shows us where all the logistics of life come together so that things work out the way they should? ”

    Perhaps they are coming together the way God wants them to, and maybe that’s just not the way you want them to.

  2. maybe. I don’t know. I’m not sure the Lord is all about shirking obligations and putting the screwens to other people (people who bought tickets to see us, the club who spends money on advertising, ect.) but I honestly don’t know.

  3. Slap these things on a scale on one end the Band on the other a Baby *tetter-totter-tetter-totter* BABY WINS! Why? It is a human life. Entertainment can wait! Soon you will feel that way my friend. The smell of poop and baby soap will fill your nostrils and your heart will beat a new beat. You will be doing alot of rocking, but the rolling… well, you will have to wait a few months to see the little one do that.

    Your family and Kyle’s trumps the band any day of the week *8 days a week* Sorry, Beetles just popped up to say “hello, hello”. Feel me? HA! I just had sugar!

    -Dude Your Getting Weirder

  4. Wow you guys are acting like I don’t know these things. I was just being honest about not trusting the Lord to work out logistics. Lo and behold, He did work them out!


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a comment